TaherInvest Group

AISB - American International School of Bucharest

  • AISB was founded in 1962 and is currently Bucharest's largest international school. The language of instruction is English and the teaching is based upon an American style and international curriculum. AISB offers as well the prestigious International Baccalaureate Program throughout the entire school, from Early Childhood through 12th grade.
  • Hosted in the finest purpose-built facility in town, with the generous help of Mr. Fathi Taher a new 10 hectare campus was constructed in 2001 that prepares students for success in universities worldwide.
  • Included is a theater/auditorium, library and media center three computer labs, cafeteria, gymnasium and extensive sport facilities with class rooms for up to 800 students. 
  • AISB is accredited by the New England Association of Schools and Colleges, the Council of International Schools and the International Baccalaurreate Organization to offer the IB Primary Years, Middle Years and Diploma Programs.

AISB is affiliated with and receives grant support from the U.S. Department of State's Office of Overseas Schools (A/SO), Washington, D.C.


The American International School of Bucharest is governed by a self-perpetuating Board of Directors. Board members are selected from the local community and are appointed by the US Ambassador. Board members are selected based upon their professional and personal skills, which are needed by the school. The AISB Board meets regularly to manage the financial operations and set policy for the school.

2013-2014 AISB Board of Trustees

Matthew Werner, Chair
Management Counselor, US Embassy

Veronica Savanciuc, Vice Chair
President and CEO, Lowe & Partners

James Stewart, Treasurer
Vice President, Raiffeisen Bank

Fathi Taher, Board Member Emeritus
Chairman, TaherInvest Group International

Bryan Jardine, Governance Committee Chair
Managing Partner, Wolf Theiss Attorneys at Law

Roderick Dorsey, Facilities Committee
Defense Attaché, US Embassy

George Mucibabici, Finance Committee
Chairman, Deloitte

Peter Schretzmeir
Managing Director, Liebherr Romania

David Ottaviano, Ex-officio Member
AISB Director

Fabiana Papastefani, Ex-officio Member
AISB - PTO President

Andy Mennick, Ex-Officio Member
AISB Faculty Association Representative